Once

Due to some health problems my doctor wants me to slow down so I am. “What did you do for yourself, today?” he asked me last week. My answer of “I studied” was not the answer he was wanting to hear so that night I made a conscious effort to do something for me that was non uni or EDC3100 related – I read a good book.

I grew up hearing a lot of World War II stories and as such have an interest in non fiction books about the subject. However, when my daughter was in year six, her very insightful teacher introduced the class to the fiction book Once by Morris Gleitzmann and my daughter guessed correctly that I would enjoy it.

The following blurb is by Morris Gleitzman from Once on his website.

Once I escaped from an orphanage to find Mum and Dad.

Once I saved a girl called Zelda from a burning house.

Once I made a Nazi with toothache laugh.

My name is Felix.

This is my story.

Everybody deserves to have something good in their life.

At least once.

He is also the author of the books Then, Now and After which all follow the same theme and are sequential. I view these books as wonderful history resources for the classroom teacher.

Once

5 thoughts on “Once

  1. Hi Jenny I once read a really good book by Sam Bourne called The Final Reckoning and I recommend it. Fictional but based on truth this is a good read if you’re into war novels.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

  2. Thank you for sharing ladies, I love reading when I ‘find that little bit of me time’ and I will definitely look up these two books. One thing that I generally try to do at the end of each semester is book myself in for a massage, hurts like crazy but gets rid of all the knots caused by stress of uni and life in general. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment